FREE Regency Bonnet Pattern

Here is a free pattern for a Regency era bonnet! My version is trimmed to match a fashion plate from 1815 but you could easily change the trimm to suit your fancy. All you have to do is download the pattern press print and make sure you print it as a poster (it will print as 2 pages) make sure scale is set at 100% and print! There will be a clear line were you connect the two pattern pieces to each other, cut out and have fun making your own regency bonnet!

Sewing instructions can be found in my youtube video linked down below. Happy sewing!

As for supplies you’ll need to print out and either glue or tape the pattern pieces together and cut the pattern out. Then you’ll need:


fabric scissors or a rotary cutter

1/2 yard of silk fashion fabric

1/2 yard of stiff cotton organdy for the crown lining

paste board or some other stiffening for the brim (I used a ikea mat, linked below)

silk or cotton sewing thread

fine hand sewing needles (I use millinery needles in a size 10)

1 yard of grossgrain ribbon for the base of the decorations

5 yards of silk ribbon

and whatever flowers or feathers you like as decorations

The instructions can be found in this video

4 thoughts on “FREE Regency Bonnet Pattern

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for sharing the pattern. My daughter and I are going to make one. Could you please advise me the crown piece dimensions as we are not sure even after we watch your YouTube and read the blogl! (I know you said you didn’t add a pattern piece as it is just circle…)

    Like

Leave a comment